Heart of ice

24 Jan

Let me tell you a thing or two about me. I’m born in the midst of winter. So far, so good, right? Not quite. I positively abhor temperatures in the minus range. Truth be told, it’s not just because of the cold since I’ve always been a bit faulty–read prone to freak colds in the most torrid of summers. No, it’s more complex than that. It has to do with dead numb fingers and living in constant fear of slipping on a patch of ice and breaking my neck. You can give me all the mulled wine you want, I still won’t like this season.

That being said, every now and again I have to admit some of nature’s more wintry creations are pretty damn amazing. And a touch creepy.

Now, I don’t know if it’s because she’s Canadian (and them people seem to have this organic connection to almost everything cold and nature-related) but Karen McRae manages to capture the elegant beauty of ice spot on.

Iced 17 by Karen McRae

Talk about poetic–look at this thing working its way around dead plants like fingers reaching out from the snow. The spirits of the forest, embodied. It sends a shiver down my spine, I swear.

Iced 11 by Karen McRae

You can see more of Karen’s photography and drawings on her personal blog. Her winter landscapes and tender detail shots have surely won me over.

Iced 41 by Karen McRae

2 Responses to “Heart of ice”

  1. drawandshoot Tuesday, January 24, 2012 at 4:05 am #

    Thank you, I’m blushing! Or is it the frostbite?!
    🙂

    • ellevaouelleveut Tuesday, January 24, 2012 at 4:15 am #

      You have no idea how happy I am that there are talented people like you out there sharing their finds with us! Thank *you*! 😀

Change the world with us!

